In this a candidate can get selected in to any of the branches of Indian Armed forces -Indian Air Force, Indian Army and Indian Navy.

Eligibility Criteria

 1.Age: 6 ½ to 19 ½ yrs as of first day of the month in which course is due to commence

 2.Qualification: 12th Class of 10+2 System of Education/Equivalent for Army and with Physics and Maths for AF/Navy.

 3.Training Academy: NDA, Khadakwasla, Pune

 4. Notification: Conducted twice in a year by UPSC, notification is released around May/Jun and Dec.


CDSE is conducted by the UPSC twice a year.

Eligibility Criteria:
University graduates or those in final year of graduation are eligible to appear in the examination. Candidates qualifying in written examination have to undergo SSB interview and medical tests. Candidates whose names appear in the merit list undergo basic military training of 18 months at Indian Military Academy/ Air Force Academy/ Naval Academy for Permanent Commission and 11 months at Officers Training Academy (OTA) to become Short Service Commissioned Officers (SSCOs). SSCOs can serve for duration of 10 years extendable to 14 years. However, they can opt for permanent commission after completion of 10 years.


1. Service Selection Boards: Recruitment through Service Selection Boards/Air Force Selection Boards is made for the Flying (Pilot), Aeronautical Engineering (Electronics), Aeronautical Engineering (Mechanical), Education, Administration, Logistics, Accounts and Meteorology branches of the IAF.

2. University Entry Scheme: under the University Entry Scheme - Final/ Pre-Final year students in engineering programme are eligible for induction into the technical branches of Air Force as Permanent Commissioned Officers Service Entry Scheme: Under this entry, serving personnel with minimum 10 years of service (of technical and non-technical trades) of the rank of Sergeant and above between the age of (36 - 42 years) and minimum educational qualification as 10+2, are eligible for Commission after screening at unit level followed by Air Force Selection Board selection tests and medical examination. Service personnel of technical trades are inducted in the Technical Branch and personnel from Non-technical trades are inducted in the Ground Duty Branches.

3.Recruitment of Women Officers: Eligible women are recruited as Short Service Commissioned Officers in the Flying, Aeronautical Engineering (Electronics), Aeronautical Engineering (Mechanical),Education, Administration, Logistics, Accounts and Meteorology branches of the IAF.

4.Recruitment through National Cadet Corps (NCC): University graduates possessing NCC ‘C’ Certificate with minimum ‘B’ grading and 50% marks in graduation are inducted in the Navy and Air Force as Regular Commissioned Officers by way of selection through the Service Selection Boards.

5.Recruitment of Airmen: The selection of candidates for airmen cadre is carried out through a centralized selection system on All India basis by the Central Airmen Selection Board (CASB) which is assisted by 14 Airmen Selection Centers (ASCs) located in different parts of the country. Applications are received at CASB at New Delhi and eligible candidates are then tested at the Airmen Selection Centers as per the schedule intimated to the candidates. Recruitment Rallies are conducted in order to give opportunities to the youth hailing from remote/ low response/ border/ insurgency affected and hilly districts and island territories of the country.


0 Comments - Write a Comment

Your Comment

Can't read the image? click here to refresh